Professor Ritter appointed to the Council of Saarland University

Professor Helge Ritter, coordinator of the Cluster of Excellence CITEC of Bielefeld University has been appointed to the Council of Saarland University. The Minister-President of the Saarland, Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, officially appointed him as a member of the Council. The term of office runs from August 2013 until August 2017.

Helge Ritter is co-founder of the Cluster of Excellence CITEC (Cognitive Interaction Technology) as well as co-founder and a director of the Institute of Cognition and Robotics (CoR-Lab) of Bielefeld University. The neuroinformatics scientist was award the Leibniz Prize in 2001 by the German Research Foundation (DFG). Since 2010, he has been a member of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts. Ritter studied physics and mathematics at the universities of Bayreuth and Heidelberg. In 1988 he received his doctorate at the Technische Universität München (TUM) in theoretical physics. Since 1985, his research has focussed on neural networks. Since 1990, he has been professor at the Faculty of Technology at Bielefeld University and leads the Neuroinformatics Research Group.

Saarland University is the only university in the federal state. Its campus is situated in Saarbrücken and Homburg. The University Council has tasks similar to a board of management. It is involved in the structural and developmental planning of the University and also reviews its economic planning. The council includes seven members who are not affiliated with the University, including representatives from the academic community, business and public life. The Senate of the University recommended Professor Ritter and two other newly appointed members to office. Three further members were appointed by recommendation by the State Government. Furthermore, eight members of the University and a representative from the Ministry for Education, Culture and Science of Saarland were appointed with an advisory function.